guru.com
1
Site certainly is a scam. Here's actual stats :
They have 800,000 currently registered "professionals" and 300,000 or so "employers".
However, the HISTORICAL TOTAL of jobs awarded is about 22,000. Over about 6 years. So let's say maybe 5,000 this year or so.
Now, do the math. One "employer" in 60 actually awards a project. One "professional" in 160 actually gets a project.
And that's not the worse part. The worse part is that you are forced to use their escrow services, and the employers either pay with fake credit cards or dispute the charges.
After which you will get an email from their so called arbitrators, to the effect of "Since professional used contract to protect himself, he clearly intended to deceive." That, in the case you actually upload a contract. Otherwise, obviously, "The employer prevails". Either way you're not getting paid.
Provided you somehow manage to get money in your "safepay" account, which pretty much means you get your own mother to hire you through their system, you're getting any money out of there. Period. Either they want a W8 form (if you're not in the US) or they'll just come up with some other absurdity.
Unless you're in it for the drama, steer clear.